Constitution And Governance

The Cathedral constitution governs how Newport Cathedral operates within the community and within the Church in Wales.
You can see below the membership as at April 2022 of Cathedral Chapter, who are Trustees.
In November 2020 the original Parochial Church Council (PCC) was wound up and under the new Constitution formation of the Cathedral Chapter was begun. Canons, both Clerical and Lay, are being appointed to the College of Canons.
The formation of Cathedral Chapter is now almost complete.  To view the Minutes from the most recent Chapter Meeting, click the button below.

Under the Constitution the Cathedral community is represented by a non-executive Congregational Committee, with representational links to Chapter through the elected Cathedral Wardens.
This committee meets about six times a year to discuss issues raised by members of the congregation and to liaise with Chapter about these and other matters. Current members are listed below.
You can view the latest Summary of the Congregational Committee Meeting by clicking the button below.

The Cathedral Congregational Meeting (AGM) is held before the end of April each year. Elections, with voting by those on the Cathedral Electoral Roll, are held when required.

The Constitution sets out the Vision Statement and the organisational structure for Cathedral Governance.
To view it, use the button below

The Regulations set out some of the methodology and requirements under the Constitution
To view these, use the button below

Cathedral Chapter

The Dean

The Very Revd Ian Black, Dean of Newport

The Residentiary Canon

Revd Andrew Lightbown

The Archdeacons of the Diocese

The Ven. Jonathan Williams  –  Archdeacon of Newport

The Ven Ian Rees  –  Archdeacon of Monmouth

The Clerical Canons

Revd Canon Mark Owen

Revd Canon Jeremy Harris

Revd Canon Anne Golledge

Revd Canon Alan Tyler

The Lay Canons

Canon Roderick Davies

Canon Peter Evans Lea

Canon Colin Walsh

Canon Fay Howe

Canon Caroline Woolard

The Congregational Committee


Mr Malcolm Phillips


Mrs Sue Smith

Other elected members

Mrs Christine Thomas
Mrs Sandra Toulson
Mr Brian Cox
Dr Brian King

The Cathedral Wardens

Mrs Fay Howe
Major Colin Walsh

Invited members

Dr Emma Gibbins, Director of Music

The Deanery Representative

Dr Sian King


Clergy are entitled to attend, to speak but not vote.

Newport Cathedral